Ionian Sea

The Ionian Sea, a body of water located in the west of Greece, extends as far as the Italian coasts of Calabria, Puglia and Sicily, in the south of the Mediterranean it covers the region between Malta and Crete and in the east it reaches the shores of southern Albania and western Greece.

In fact, the deepest point in the entire Mediterranean Sea lies at the bottom of the Ionian Sea.

All major islands in the Ionian sea are located near mainland Greece and are collectively named the Ionian Islands, the main ones included being Corfu, Kefalonia, Paxos, Zakynthos, Lefkada, Ithaca and Kythira as well as several other smaller islands.